

# Unequal ageing: life-expectancy, care needs and reforms to the welfare state

28th May 2024 | Paris



The support of the JPI MYBL with funding from the following national funding agencies is gratefully acknowledged: ANR, DfG, ESRC, FORTE, CIHR.



DETAILED SCHEDULE 🕓



## Part II. Health inequality and long-term care





The support of the JPI MYBL with funding from the following national funding agencies is gratefully acknowledged: ANR, DfG, ESRC, FORTE, CIHR.



# 🕓 DETAILED SCHEDULE 🕓

### Part III. Policy round-table:

## Policy implication for pension design of life-expectancy differential

#### 15:30-16:00 Cross-country evidence on life-expectancy gradient

**16:00-18:00** Life-expectancy and health inequality for designing pension reform Policy round-table chaired by Antoine Bozio (PSE, EHESS, IPP)



### **Cathy Payne**

Deputy Director, Department for Work and Pensions (UK) Cathy Payne has had an extensive career in the UK civil service working on a range of social policy issues. She currently has responsibility for the UK State Pension policy and recently led the last Government review on State Pension age.



### Ole Settergren

Head of the Analysis Department, Pensions Agency (Sweden) Ole Settergren had a key role in the major Swedish pension reform in the late 1990s. He was one of the main architects behind the Notional Defined Contribution plan that was implemented after the reform. Since the reform, he has held different positions at the Swedish Pensions Agency. He is currently Head of the Analysis Department.



### **Franck von Lennep**

#### Head of Social Security Department (France)

Franck von Lennep is the current director of Social Security (DSS), the French Department in charge of health care financing, social benefits, workers' compensation and pensions. Between 2017 and 2020, he was chief of social affairs in the French Prime Minister Office in charge of supervising social policy, including pension reforms.



### Johannes Spinnewijn

#### Professor at the London School of Economics (UK)

Johannes Spinnewijn is Professor in Economics at the London School of Economics. His research focuses on various topics in public economics, including the design of social insurance and pension systems.





The support of the JPI MYBL with funding from the following national funding agencies is gratefully acknowledged: ANR, DfG, ESRC, FORTE, CIHR.



# $\mathbf{i}$ PRACTICAL INFORMATION $\mathbf{i}$



### Venue

Paris School of Economics (PSE), 48 boulevard Jourdan Paris 14, France Conference room R2-01



### Contact

Maxime Tô, Head of Pensions Unit at the IPP mail: maxime.to@ipp.eu



### More information about this project

JPI website : https://jp-demographic.eu/projects/pensineq/

# How to come to Paris School of Economics



### From Roissy Charles de Gaulle airport

take RER B (south direction) to Cité Universitaire (via Paris). You can also use a Car Air France (bus) to Montparnasse, then subway line 4 (south direction) to Porte d'Orléans. Travel duration : 1 hour.



### From Orly airport

take an Orlybus bus to Paris, and get out at "Tombe Issoire" (it is the first stop within Paris' confines). Travel duration : 45 min.



### From Gare du Nord train station

take RER B (south direction) to Cité Universitaire (via Paris). You can also take subway line 4 (south direction) to Porte d'Orléans. Travel duration : 30 min.

### From Gare de Lyon train station



take RER A (west direction, end of the line is Cergy-le-Haut) ; change at Châtelet Les Halles ; take RER B (south direction) to Cité Universitaire. You can also take subway line 14 (Saint Lazare direction) ; change at Châtelet ; take subway line 4 to Porte d'Orléans. Travel duration : 45 min



The support of the JPI MYBL with funding from the following national funding agencies is gratefully acknowledged: ANR, DfG, ESRC, FORTE, CIHR.







Institut des Politiques Publiques

# **IFS** Institute for Fiscal Studies



IFAU INSTITUTE FOR EVALUATION OF LABOUR MARKET AND EDUCATION POLICY









The support of the JPI MYBL with funding from the following national funding agencies is gratefully acknowledged: ANR, DfG, ESRC, FORTE, CIHR.



